Free Rides New Year’s Eve

Free transit service on New Year’s Eve 2011:

VTA will be offering free service on all light rail and bus lines from 7:00 pm Saturday, December 31, 2011 until 3:59 am Sunday, January 1, 2012.

Light Rail:

Last trip leaving Santa Teresa at 1:54 am
Last trip leaving Alum Rock at 1:37 am
Last trip leaving Winchester at 1:10 am
Last trip leaving Mountain View at 10:50 pm
Last trip leaving Baypointe at 1:27 am

Express Line 180/181 (to the Fremont BART Station):

Last Northbound bus leaving Diridon Station at 2:06 am arriving at Fremont BART at 2:47 am
Last Southbound bus leaving Fremont BART at 3:05 am arriving at 2nd & Santa Clara at 3:41 am (Does not go to the Diridon Station)


Caltrain offers free train service starting at 11:00 pm on Dec. 31, 2011. In addition, Caltrain will add four extra post-midnight, southbound trains to its regular Sunday schedule, Jan. 1, 2012. Trains will depart the San Francisco station at 12:45 am, 1:15 am, 1:45 am and 2:15 am, making all local weekend stops (including Diridon Station).

SF Muni has free rides on all Muni lines & routes (including cable cars) from 8:00 pm New Year’s Eve until 6:00 am New Years Day. Additional Metro service from 8:00 pm to 2:15 am from West Portal to Caltrain and until 4 am from Embarcadero to West Portal Station.

1 Comment so far

  1. David (unregistered) on January 1st, 2012 @ 11:49 am

    New Years Eve SCAM! – CALTRAIN DID NOT take us back home at 2.15am
    at all! We were there at 2.05am prompt hoping to get on. They
    closed the gates already at that point and CAL train left at 2.10am
    !!!! leaving almost 1000 people behind! Police officer advised us
    to find alternative solution. We paid almost $200 for a cab to
    Menlo Park! CAL TRAIN SHOULD GIVE US A REFUND FOR abandoning 1000
    people and for MISLEADING INFO about NYE time table. CALTRAIN lives
    on us who live and work in Silicon Valley and we deserved better!

Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Content: Creative Commons | Site and Design © 2009 | Metroblogging ® and Metblogs ® are registered trademarks of Bode Media, Inc.